Item Number: SR24

The Salina Group, redefined to extend into central Indiana, consists of zero (erosion effected) to 500 feet (152 m) of carbonate rocks assigned to two formations, the Wabash Formation and the Pleasant Mills Formation (new name). The Pleasant Mills, applicable from central to far northern Indiana and zero to 300 feet (91 m) thick, consists in ascending order of the Limberlost Dolomite Member (new rank) and rocks that were formerly called the Waldron Formation and the Louisville Limestone. The Wabash Formation, zero to 200 feet (61 m) thick and newly extended throughout far northern Indiana, consists of four members: the Mississinewa Shale and the Liston Creek, Kokomo, and Kenneth Limestone Members (new formation assignments for the latter two units). The latter two units are facies of the Liston Creek.

Droste, J. B., and Shaver, R. H., 1982, The Salina Group (Middle and Upper Silurian) of Indiana: Indiana Geological Survey Special Report 24, 41 p., 11 figs. doi: 10.5967/geny-tq53

You may also like:

Keywords: Wabash Formation, Pleasant Mills Formation, Louisville Limestone, Limberlost Dolomite Member, Mississinewa Shale, Liston Creek Limestone Member, Kokomo Limestone Member, Kenneth Limestone Member, Salina Group, Silurian, stratigraphy

Can't find what you're looking for? Feel free to contact us directly:

Indiana Geological and Water Survey
1001 E. 10th St.
Bloomington, IN 47405
812-855-7636 (phone)
812-855-2862 (fax)

IGS Return Policy

  • Original sales receipt required.
  • Returns accepted within 30 days of purchase date.
  • Refund will be issued by the same method of payment as purchased.
  • Products must be returned in the same new condition as purchased.
  • Refunds on custom orders and digital products are NOT allowed.
  • Customers are responsible for paying shipping costs to return products.

Updated 8/19/2020